Socket error when trying to sync

Support related problems and questions

Moderators: Max, TerryRogers

Post Reply
paulg
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:39 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Socket error when trying to sync

Post by paulg »

Using Epim pro V5.54 with windows 7 64 bit
I have sync to Google set to sync every 30 minutes, sometimes on the syncform I get an "socket error 11004". What does this mean and how can I prevent it?
Paul
--------------------------------
http://www.ipgphotography.com
----------------------------------
EssentialPim-Pro, Windows7 64bit

Max
Site Admin
Posts: 21714
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 pm
Has thanked: 820 times
Been thanked: 363 times
Contact:

Re: Socket error when trying to sync

Post by Max »

In most cases it means something is wrong with your Internet connection.
Maxim,
EPIM Team

paulg
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:39 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Socket error when trying to sync

Post by paulg »

Max, thanks for the reply, nothing to worry about then, it will just sync next time around
Paul
--------------------------------
http://www.ipgphotography.com
----------------------------------
EssentialPim-Pro, Windows7 64bit

deejay
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:17 am

Re: Socket error when trying to sync

Post by deejay »

I too am having this issue, though I'm not sure it is often. My schedule is set to 2 hours. For the sake of two PC's, I'm 2-way sync'ing only calendar, contacts, notes & ToDo's with gmail and my internet connection is fine. Account credentials are correct. IMAP with Yahoo mail is useable and there are no entries in the firewall log which indicate that that might be where the problem lies. :(
For a 1st step in aid of diagnosis, I've reduced the schedule to 1 hour and removed notes & ToDo's from the job.

paulg
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:39 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Socket error when trying to sync

Post by paulg »

I found my problem was occurring when the computer came out of hibernation, I'm guessing that epim was trying to sync before an internet connection was established. When the computer is running normally I don't get any problems.
Paul
--------------------------------
http://www.ipgphotography.com
----------------------------------
EssentialPim-Pro, Windows7 64bit

Post Reply