Error after V9.6 Update

Support related problems and questions

Moderators: Max, TerryRogers

GetOrganised
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 11:23 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Error after V9.6 Update

Post by GetOrganised »

Having received the V9.6 update notification, I dutifully paid to renew my License Key (which recently expired) and downloaded the update. On installation it re-started EssentialPIM, after which I now get this message when it opens:

"You are opening the same database in a second instance of EssentialPIM or with the same user twice. This may cause data duplication and is not adviced. Open?"

If I look at Windows Task Manager, there are indeed two Image Names of EssentialPIM.exe *32, one using 1124K of memory, the other 54656K. If I close EssentialPIM, they both disappear from Task Manager. I've re-booted the PC but it still does it.

I'm reluctant to use it now. Any ideas for a fix?
Intel i7-4770K 3.5GHz 64-Bit. 8GB memory. SSD disk. Win 7 Pro. Usually on latest EssentialPIM version.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9903
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 901 times
Been thanked: 520 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by admin »

You can safely ignore this message for now and make it to not appear again by selecting the corresponding checkbox. And, if possible, do the following:
1. make a copy of your database file
2. open the created copy with EPIM and delete all the important data from it
3. optimize the database, exit, start again and see if the problem is still there
4. if it is, archive the file it and forward to us
5. we will then try to fix the issue
Thanks!
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!
firstoftwins
Expert
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:35 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by firstoftwins »

I'm getting the same warning when trying to open my database after upgrading, and optimizing it doesn't solve the problem.
EPIMPro (PC & Portable) 9.6
Win 10 Pro x 64
firstoftwins
Expert
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:35 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by firstoftwins »

GetOrganised wrote: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:14 pm
I'm reluctant to use it now.
I'm terrified. I've kinda put all my eggs in one basket using EPIM, and if that data file gets corrupted on opening it I'm buggered. It may already be corrupted now. I've made copies. Any idea what "adviced' means?
EPIMPro (PC & Portable) 9.6
Win 10 Pro x 64
GetOrganised
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 11:23 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by GetOrganised »

'Delete all the important data from it"?? Well that would be everything. How do I do that? Like firstoftwins, all my eggs are also in the EPIM basket and I'm reluctant to use it until this issue is fixed.
Intel i7-4770K 3.5GHz 64-Bit. 8GB memory. SSD disk. Win 7 Pro. Usually on latest EssentialPIM version.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9903
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 901 times
Been thanked: 520 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by admin »

Like we said, you could ignore the message, there's a special checkbox for that. This will not influence integrity of your data in any way.

To delete data, you simply select it (Ctrl+A) and hit the Delete button.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!
GetOrganised
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 11:23 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by GetOrganised »

If you're sure I can ignore it without any consequence, then I'll do that.
Intel i7-4770K 3.5GHz 64-Bit. 8GB memory. SSD disk. Win 7 Pro. Usually on latest EssentialPIM version.
jsc
Guru
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 4:01 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by jsc »

What worked for me was to create new databases using EPIMSync (use latest version) and the problem went away. I optimized each new database after pulling it into EPIM, and I haven't had any issues since.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9903
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 901 times
Been thanked: 520 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by admin »

jsc, thanks fro the update. Would also appreciate if you could forward us your old database file (you can remove all sensitive data from it). In this case we'll be able to fix the cause of the problem.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!
User avatar
rgrun1
Experienced
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:23 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by rgrun1 »

I am working well by just igniring the message
When you start EPIM it starts 2 instances of the program which can be verified in task manager
And yes I have checked the box to only allow one instance of the program and in fact that is all loads
--
Thanks
Rick

EPIM 9.6
Windows 10 Pro
Keldi
Guru
Posts: 288
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:42 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by Keldi »

Also got this warning:
You are opening the same database in a second instance of EssentialPIM or with the same user twice. This may cause data duplication and is not adviced. Open?
The database in the attachments.
Attachments
9.6-opening-the-same-database-warning.zip
(249.45 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Isaac000
Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 7:30 pm

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by Isaac000 »

Yeah, happening to me too. I've even clean rebooted and I'm sure no other instance of EssentialPIM is running.

I've made backups just in case. But I also noticed it auto-creates its own backups?
USERNAME.backup_YYYYMMDD_HHMM.epim
The mystery here is the file sizes do not match the main database file size, it's smaller so I'm wondering what's lost in that backup.
MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 158 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by MetalDrop »

Isaac000 wrote: Thu Dec 24, 2020 5:15 pm Yeah, happening to me too. I've even clean rebooted and I'm sure no other instance of EssentialPIM is running.

I've made backups just in case. But I also noticed it auto-creates its own backups?
USERNAME.backup_YYYYMMDD_HHMM.epim
The mystery here is the file sizes do not match the main database file size, it's smaller so I'm wondering what's lost in that backup.
Nothing is lost. The backups created by EPIM are simply compressed.
EPIM Portable Pro on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia 970 & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti.
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]
nesema
Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 8:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by nesema »

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Exception log with detailed tech info. Generated on 24/12/2020 18:09.
You may send it to the application vendor, helping him to understand what had happened.
Application title: EssentialPIM Pro Portable
Application file: C:\Users\Administrator\Desktop\_EssentialPIMPortable\EssentialPIM.exe
Application: EssentialPIM Pro Portable 9.6 22/12/2020
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Exception class: EIBInterBaseError
Exception message: Dynamic SQL Error
SQL error code = -204
Table unknown
CONNECTIONS
At line 1, column 45.
Exception address: 00777AE4
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Main thread ID = 14220
Exception thread ID = 14220
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Object Logs:
18:09:29.229 DBOpen
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Controls:
18:09:29.399 MainForm
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8 Workstation, Version: 6.2, Build: 23F0, ""
Memory: 32708; free 27052
Display: 1920x1080 pixels, 32 bpp, 96 PPI
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Updates: 0
Last update: 06/01/2020

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:(
jsc
Guru
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 4:01 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Error after V9.6 Update

Post by jsc »

@admin,
I have one db that I can send to you, but now it just gives an Dynamic SQL error and not the warning of duplicate instances. How to send it - it's only 2.6mb in size? I'd feel better sending it outside of this forum.
Post Reply