How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Business edition tips, tricks, problems and discussions

Moderators: Max, TerryRogers

Post Reply
Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 576
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Trinitylab »

Hi,

EPIM 7.65, Pro Net Biz.

We need to work on 2 DBs opened via Firebird server simultaneously.
I have a workaround how to do it, but this is inconvenient.
Is there any option from EPIM inside?

If not, then it would be fantastic to have an option "Open DB in new window" or - even better! - "Open new window". As then new, empty EPIM windows opens, and I can use "last opened files", and quickly open via a server.

Cheers,
Piotr
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Max
Site Admin
Posts: 21711
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 pm
Has thanked: 820 times
Been thanked: 363 times
Contact:

Re: How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Max »

Hello,

what prevents you from doing this is not 100% clear to me, but, generally, you can open several instances of EPIM Business (client), and each might have opened a separate database via single Firebird server.
Just make sure in Tools-> Options-> Allow only 1 copy of EssentialPIM at a time... is unchecked.
Maxim,
EPIM Team

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 576
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Trinitylab »

Dear Max,

Thanks for the reply, nothing prevents. It is just inconvenient:
MainDB is working,
I want to open SalesDB, so
RMB on EPIM shortcut in Taskbar in Windows,
click on the last used SalesDB, which is pinned to the top,
it opens, but as from the file, not from localhost,
click again to close the message about shortcuts in use,
I close all SalesDB,
I have now empty EPIM window/instance,
so from drop-down File menu I can now select the same SalesDB, but this time I can open it from
localhost and so on...

The same has to be done on the second, guest PC.

Everything would be much easier if there is an option in
File > New > EPIM window/instance.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Max
Site Admin
Posts: 21711
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 pm
Has thanked: 820 times
Been thanked: 363 times
Contact:

Re: How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Max »

I see, thanks. We had suggestion in the past that would allow to use path to database in EPIM shortcut. Therefore, you could place 2 shortcuts to EPIM on the Desktop, each would open own database. The problem is, this solution would be used only by a handful of users (who would also need to read manual)
Maxim,
EPIM Team

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 576
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Trinitylab »

Max wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 9:10 pm
I see, thanks. We had suggestion in the past that would allow to use path to database in EPIM shortcut. Therefore, you could place 2 shortcuts to EPIM on the Desktop, each would open own database. The problem is, this solution would be used only by a handful of users (who would also need to read manual)
Max, how to do this, using EPIM server?
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Max
Site Admin
Posts: 21711
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 pm
Has thanked: 820 times
Been thanked: 363 times
Contact:

Re: How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Max »

Currently there is no way to do this, it requires development efforts from our side.
Maxim,
EPIM Team

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 576
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Trinitylab »

Hi Max,

The solution would be very simple, just add the option in Main Menu, File>
open EPIM's another instance;

and please add more "lately used files" in the list in Menu > File, not only three. That would help a lot, and it is very easy and simple to implement.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 576
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Trinitylab »

Much needed.
It would be much better just to add 5-7 lately used files.
Or the option to open new instance.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Texter
Guru
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 9:24 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Texter »

i had a similiar thing.
1) my own local DB
--> shortcut to my personal EPIM DB. opened with my "epim pro portable"
2) my companie DB in network
--> used a copied directory of "epim pro portable". I linked the .exe file
3) from time to time direct editing through the admin PC in the network, was a remote session (e.g. teamviewer).

I've tried a second network instance, but i failed. So solution was the remote session
Epim-User since 12/2007 - changed to pro later - never change a running system - now Epim Lifetime.
Running latest* Epim Pro Portable on a Lenovo T440p with Win 10 64bit.
*including RC`s
spoken languages: German / English

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 576
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: How to quickly open two DBs in EPIM to work simult.?

Post by Trinitylab »

Hi guys, just reminding, adding "open new instance" would solve everything here.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Post Reply