Error loop on client sleep wake

Business edition tips, tricks, problems and discussions

Moderators: Max, TerryRogers

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by MetalDrop »

Made sure the English.lng file was copied over.

New logs attached
Attachments
error after that.mp4
(479.91 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Logs.zip
(18.84 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
1st error.png
1st error.png (10.88 KiB) Viewed 74 times
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8404
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 409 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

Thank you! And another build is ready, same download link, same installation instructions. This one should definitely work :)
Please let us know.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by MetalDrop »

Works in that there is now no more infinitely looping error message so you don't have to kill it in task manager. However it doesn't do anything to avoid some bad potential data loss situations.

Now it simply exits out of EPIM with no chance to recover unsaved work.

Example:

Unplug the network cable to simulate a bump in the network... or other method to simulate other common things.

EPIM now just exits. leaving you with no chance to recover unsaved data in what you were working on.

If you have EPIM set to auto save every 5,10,15,20..etc mins, you just lost up to that much work.
or if you were writing an email, or working in other pop out editors then the working drafts are never auto-saved and you could loss even more work.
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

TumbleDoor
Expert
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:19 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by TumbleDoor »

MetalDrop wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:43 pm
Unplug the network cable to simulate a bump in the network... or other method to simulate other common things.
I got a good laugh out of that since it's so true. One of the offices I use to work at had a terrible IT setup and it seemed like every half hour someone was bumping something that caused a bump/long flicker in the network.

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by Trinitylab »

Oh, does it mean you, guys, are restoring this old behaviour, that on the host, after PC goes idle and is awake, DB is still working?
That would be great.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8404
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 409 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

If you have EPIM set to auto save every 5,10,15,20..etc mins, you just lost up to that much work.
Which is not entirely true. As information in the database gets saved and updated much more often (almost after any interaction with it).
if you were writing an email, or working in other pop out editors then the working drafts are never auto-saved and you could loss even more work
There's an auto-save feature for email, which is on by default.
Oh, does it mean you, guys, are restoring this old behaviour, that on the host, after PC goes idle and is awake, DB is still working?
Yes, it's working this way now.

All in all, we agree, there's some space for minor and rare potential issues but in order to avoid all that a major update will be required, which we are going to do a bit later down the road.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by Trinitylab »

Great, thanks.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by Trinitylab »

8.56 still persists.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8404
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 409 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

Which actions specifically led to which result (error message)?
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by Trinitylab »

I set sleep time to 30 min., walked away just to freeze the host, came back, and tried to use any of the DB opened via server.
And there was a typical message, i do not remember which one, honestly.
The difference though is that I can 'use' DB, for example open a new event in Calendar, but with every click I get this error message (it's the same when PC goes idle with DB opened via the server, and then you want to use DB after awake).
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8404
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 409 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

Would appreciate if you make a short video demonstrating the problem and then share a link to it. Thanks!
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by Trinitylab »

Admin, I will try, but I do not want to install the soft you suggest, too many additional co-installing work.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by Trinitylab »

@admin, just after freeze you can see a 'regular' message like below
Przechwytywanie.JPG
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8404
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 409 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

When did the "freeze" occur?
Will the message be gone after clicking on the OK button?
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by Trinitylab »

1. Freeze, after the host goes idle.
2. Would have to check, what happens, but definitely is not gone, some other messages pop up.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Post Reply