Error loop on client sleep wake

Business edition tips, tricks, problems and discussions

Moderators: TerryRogers, Max

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8451
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

Freeze in normal as the system tries to re-establish network connection during that time.
Would really appreciate a small video clip (you can use your phone, for instance to record what happens on the PC screen, so no need to install anything...) Thanks!
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by Trinitylab »

Admin, can't agree, as for a couple of years EPIM on the host did not freeze, ie. one could easily use DB after PC went idle, and then awoke. No message or anything. This is how it worked.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8451
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

And this is how it supposed to work now with the 8.6 version. That's why I'm so persistent in asking you for a short video, so that we could see how this is working on your side.
Also, please let us know (if you happen to remember that), which of the previous versions you remember worked as expected for you?
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by Trinitylab »

Definitely 5.x, later not sure.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8451
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

It might seem so as there were much less requests to the networked database file in the 5.x versions of EPIM simply because the program itself was less advanced at that time. But if you, for instance tried to switch from one module to another with the 5.x series version you'd face the same freezing situation.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

TumbleDoor
Expert
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:19 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by TumbleDoor »

So the thing I don't get here is why don't you just add a connection re-try button to the error message?

It seems like the issue here is that EPIM only tries to reconnected to the database on it's own terms which is way to fast and aggressive for the average time it takes for the NIC to come back online after sleep or the average bump in the network. So by having a re-try button the user can hit they can just wait for the network to come up and then hit the button.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8451
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

It should be trying to connect each time you click on the Ok button. But so far we weren't able to test that out as we couldn't make that message to come up. So; it still points in the short demonstration video direction.. :)
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by MetalDrop »

Well I can provide a video of what hitting the OK button currently dose [RC2] after a temp network lose which is close out of EPIM. There is no attempt to reconnect just instant terminate.
Attachments
Video_2019-10-02_121602.mp4
(299.34 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8451
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

Yes, this is by design.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

TumbleDoor
Expert
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:19 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by TumbleDoor »

Well that seems like rather conflicting messages.

First you say, "It should be trying to connect each time you click on the OK button. "

Then you say that by design clicking OK terminates the program.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8451
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

This is a different message that you can see in the video.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

TumbleDoor
Expert
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:19 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by TumbleDoor »

admin wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2019 9:18 pm
This is a different message that you can see in the video.
I wasn't talking about the freeze message, don't know anything about that haven't ever experienced it myself.

I wanted know why when there's a temporary lack of internet why EPIM can't be made to try re-connecting, rather then just killing itself.

It's nice not to have to manually kill it in the task manager anymore, but it's still an annoying/bad solution.

It would be like Chrome, IE, of Firefox killing itself because you lost internet or your computer went to sleep well working in google docs.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8451
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by admin »

See here, last sentence: viewtopic.php?p=108002#p108002.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by MetalDrop »

Slept the computer and came back 8hrs later and the error loop started back.

It seems to happen when EPIM is minimized and the system is slept for a long period of time.

If EPIM is left OPEN when the computer goes to sleep it won't go into the loop. It seems to have to be minimized and it seems to have to be for a number of hours.

I'll turn on logging and test this again tonight when I go to bed I'll leave EPIM connected and minimized.
Attachments
Video_2019-10-05_184749.mp4
(234.96 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Error loop on client sleep wake

Post by MetalDrop »

One restful night later it seems to be confirmed:

Video and log files attached

Recap:
If EPIM is minimized and the computer sleeps for a number of hours it will still go into an infinite loop.
Attachments
Logs.zip
(4.47 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Video_2019-10-06_081214.mp4
(324.88 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

Post Reply