Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Business edition tips, tricks, problems and discussions

Moderators: Max, TerryRogers

Post Reply
MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by MetalDrop »

When you work on a sticky note well connected to host all date will be lost/reset in the note you were just working on in the main window since the last auto save or note switch.

In the video:
-> I type in the main window.
-> I switch to a sticky note and type something.
-> I return to the main window and it deletes what I had just typed / restores it to the state of the last autosave / note switch.


Note:
This only happens well connected to a host (business feature) not when EPIM is being ran standalone on a computer.
Attachments
Video_2019-09-13_215309.mp4
(108.89 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

Max
Site Admin
Posts: 21711
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 pm
Has thanked: 820 times
Been thanked: 363 times
Contact:

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by Max »

Hi,

I was not able to reproduce the issue on Networked 8.6 Beta 2. Can you try on Beta 2 and on a new database? (to make sure it is not database-dependent)
Maxim,
EPIM Team

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by MetalDrop »

Max wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:36 am
Hi,

I was not able to reproduce the issue on Networked 8.6 Beta 2. Can you try on Beta 2 and on a new database? (to make sure it is not database-dependent)
Yes, I am using 8.6 Beta 2
And yes it happens on a fresh database. [used in the new longer video attached]
Make sure you are follow all the steps.

You must type in the sticky note and return to the main window.
If you just go between the sticky note and main window it will not happen.

I have tested this using 4 different host and client systems and can reproduce it each time the same way. (an old windows 7 system, two completely different windows 10 systems, and a Mini PC running the long term support version of windows 10.)
Attachments
Video_2019-09-14_101220.mp4
(344.75 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by MetalDrop »

Another video using two entirely different systems. [including a just installed today EPIM business bundled firebird server.] and a screenshot showing that the database is fresh.
2019-09-14_103038.png
Video_2019-09-14_103418.mp4
(202.24 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

Max
Site Admin
Posts: 21711
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 pm
Has thanked: 820 times
Been thanked: 363 times
Contact:

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by Max »

Hi,

here is the link to my video- can you check it out, if I am not mistaken, I am performing the same scenario, but it works?:
https://www.screencast.com/t/qh1o7C16t
Maxim,
EPIM Team

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by MetalDrop »

Max wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:06 pm
Hi,

here is the link to my video- can you check it out, if I am not mistaken, I am performing the same scenario, but it works?:
https://www.screencast.com/t/qh1o7C16t
Sorry I don't have a web browser that supports flash, and that site doesn't allow downloads. Can you upload to the forum or to a place that has an HMTL5 player or download link?
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by MetalDrop »

After testing every browser I am willing to install none work with flash now. XD
It's funny I never really noticed just how dead flash really was until this moment.

Anyway I thought of something to test that may be causing you not to see the issue that would not show in the video anyway.

You have to be using two computers.

If you connect to the database on the host computer it will not happen.
Therefore you must be using one computer as the host and a different computer as the client. If they are one in the same it doesn't happen.


Bizarrely I found out by accident that this happens with Beta 2 and the current stable 8.55 but dose not happen with Beta 1.
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by MetalDrop »

Update: This seems to be fixed in RC 1
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by MetalDrop »

Seems this has returned once more as of 8.6 RC2

If there's anyone else who uses the network version who could test this to make sure it's just not me it would be great.
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

FireBrand2026
Expert
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 4:10 am
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by FireBrand2026 »

Tested and can confirm the same thing happens for me on my setup.

Both the server and client are both pretty standard systems: Windows 10 pro, Intel i7's, 8GB of ram...etc nothing real special or unique.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8457
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 412 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by admin »

It still works ok on our end even on the RC2 version. Nevertheless, will specifically check out this problem again. Thanks!
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

TumbleDoor
Expert
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:19 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by TumbleDoor »

I can confirm it too for RC2 and the current stable 8.56.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8457
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 412 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by admin »

Thanks for the info, looking at it.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8457
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 412 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by admin »

May I ask you to please check the following build:
www.essentialpim.com/download/temp/Esse ... roPort.zip (download, unpack and replace the executable file). Will the issue be fixed with it?
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

MetalDrop
Guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:19 pm
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: Bug - DATA LOSS RISK when using stickies well connect to a host.

Post by MetalDrop »

admin wrote:
Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:15 am
May I ask you to please check the following build:
www.essentialpim.com/download/temp/Esse ... roPort.zip (download, unpack and replace the executable file). Will the issue be fixed with it?
Ran it through as many tests as I could on my systems and it looks nice a fixed.
Windows 7 64-bit US-ENG & Windows 10 64-bit US-ENG, Intel i7 7700k, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia & AMD Ryzen 2600 16GB DDR4 Nvidia 1080ti
[I'm helpful and often reply to questions, please note however I am just a fellow user and not staff.]

Post Reply