Bug: no background sync, again

Discussion of EssentialPIM for Android and synchronization
Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

EPIM Win 8.1 to Android Pie
Since a couple of weeks (3?) there is no background syncing at all.
I have to do it manually, and obviously with a huge pain (full of error messages on Android, like lack of connection and many others).
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8457
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 412 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

So maybe background sync is not happening as there's lots of connection errors? What do they specifically say?
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Errors typically are when I want to sync manually, "No connection" and so on.
Then I have to "initiate" sync from PC, which is impossible, but it appears that when I do it, the manual sync is ongoing, while 30 sec. ago on Android it said "No connection" or something, I do not remember now the exact message.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Now on PC:
access violation at address 014396FE in module EssentialPIM.exe. Read of address 00000008.

===
Please note also, that there is no chance to copy and paste this message. Either screensave or manual typing. You could have made it easier.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8457
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 412 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

You cannot initiate synchronization from the PC as it acts as a server and waits for connection from the Android counterpart app. Please try to remove and then re-create the synchronization.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

I did, and the above error still appears.
I believe this is in regard to background sync, because it pops up in the morning when I start EPIM, after some time, seconds or minutes.
I think PC wants to connect with Android to sync in background, and cannot.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8457
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 412 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

PC version cannot and will not try to connect. That's Android EPIM which always initiates connection.
As for the error message, please hit the Send button and forward it to us, will analyze and fix. Thanks.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Michel
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 10:02 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Michel »

WINDOWS 7 PRO 64
EPIM Pro 8.53.1

I have the same bug for many days now:

access violation at address 0143A2DA in module 'EssentialPIM.exe'. Read of address 00000008

this message appears on my PC when initiating sync from my Android Phone

Already done:
- removed and then re-created the synchronization
- uninstalled/reinstalled epim android app
- uninstalled/reinstalled EPIM Pro 8.53.1

No improuvment

Regards

Michel

PS: see attached EPIMSyncErrorLog from epim android app
Attachments
EPIMSyncErrorLog_20190704045954.txt
(924 Bytes) Downloaded 5 times

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Still the same.
Until I do a manual sync, no sync in background. And the error: access violation and so on.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8457
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 412 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

Michel, Trinitylab forward me synchronization log files from Windows EPIM, as well please. They can be found here: Tools->Options->Synchronization, Browse... and the filenames should start with "AndroidSync". Thanks!
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

No sync at all, 8.54.2, either manual or in background. Manual - cannot find PC, socket and port in use.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8457
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 412 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

What do you mean by that: "socket and port in use"?
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

The message on desktop EPIM.
Though yesterday I was able to sync manually, doing nothing different way.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8457
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 780 times
Been thanked: 412 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

That error indicates you likely had more than a single copy of EPIM opened at a time.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Yes, we use three different DBs daily. But only one of them syncs with Android. Two syncs with Google.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Post Reply