Bug: no background sync, again

Discussion of EssentialPIM for Android and synchronization
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8431
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

It seems the one that syncs with Android was simultaneously opened in two EPIM instances as in this case the same port cannot be used twice and hence the error message for the second copy.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Hi admin, was checking this for a couple of days, no, one instance, same problem.
Actually, syncing with Android is the weakest point in EPIM, unfortunately.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8431
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

If the port number is in use, you can always change it to another one in the sync settings.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Still the message, one instance working:

Przechwytywanie.JPG
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8431
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

Still need to see the log file. Thanks.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Hi, have just sent in PM, hope you receive it.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8431
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

Got it, thanks! This will be fixed in the next release of AEPIM.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Great, thank you!
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Hi, in 8.55 BE something improved, several background syncs occured, and now all is back to 'normal' :)

Przechwytywanie.JPG
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8431
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

The issue needs to be fully fixed on the AEPIM's side.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

Thanks!
Very much. 10+ characters used.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

Trinitylab
Guru
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by Trinitylab »

8.62.1 Biz
Still huge problem with sync with Android. Ie. no sync at all, manually, in background.
One DB working.
Honestly, this is a big bug, for more than a year I cannot rely on automatic DB syncing. Also on manual.
You should have done something with this. Today having the same stuff on a desktop and in a smartphone is obvious.
EPIM Pro Business Network always newest
Win 8.1 Pro 64x, C2D 2x3GHz, 8 GB RAM or Win 10 Pro, C2D 2x2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8431
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:12 am
Has thanked: 778 times
Been thanked: 411 times

Re: Bug: no background sync, again

Post by admin »

What's the error message (if any)?
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!

Post Reply