Not all database fields

Support related problems and questions

Moderators: Max, TerryRogers

Post Reply
bobmac1547
Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:33 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Not all database fields

Post by bobmac1547 »

Apparently, not all the fields in the database for tasks are exposed in the import process...

I am trying to import from a CSV file and one of the fields is due date. While the due date is clearly shown in the task editing form, there does not seem to be a way to import that date into EPIM. So, as a result, all my tasks have NO due date. That, obviously, is not acceptable.

Am I missing something here?

BTW, I did a test export of a task from EPIM and Due Date is not there. Due Time IS there, but not the date, and that, for me, is the critical field.

BTW2: Using trial of EPIM Pro 8.66.1 on Win10-64, 32 GB RAM, tons of hard drive space, i7 processor

Max
Site Admin
Posts: 21711
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 pm
Has thanked: 820 times
Been thanked: 363 times
Contact:

Re: Not all database fields

Post by Max »

I suppose you are importing Tasks from CSV. Please see attached screenshot, of how you can define to import Due Date.
Screenshot 2020-05-19 00.45.49.png
Maxim,
EPIM Team

bobmac1547
Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:33 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Not all database fields

Post by bobmac1547 »

Yes. I see how to define the field. But I would like it to appear in the field in the form. I tried defining the field during import, but then I end up with two "Due date" fields, one in the form and one in the custom fields. That's not good.

Why is the "native" due date field not exposed in the import dialog?

Max
Site Admin
Posts: 21711
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 pm
Has thanked: 820 times
Been thanked: 363 times
Contact:

Re: Not all database fields

Post by Max »

Thank you, will attempt to fix.
Maxim,
EPIM Team

bobmac1547
Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:33 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Not all database fields

Post by bobmac1547 »

Thanks, Max...
In fact, all fields exposed in ANY form should be mappable during import. That will result in fewer custom fields and more functionality/usability for the forms.

Is there any way to bulk move data from one field to another? If that were possible, I could do the importing now, creating a custom field, and then move that data in to the native field. The original versions of ACT! had that feature and it was terrific. (Please tell me if I'm not being clear.)

I'm going to have to wait until this fix is complete before I purchase. It's disappointing, but necessary for me.

Max
Site Admin
Posts: 21711
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:39 pm
Has thanked: 820 times
Been thanked: 363 times
Contact:

Re: Not all database fields

Post by Max »

There is no way to bulk-move data from one field to another.
A workaround would be to convert your data to iCal file (if CSV -> iCal converters exist) and use it to import to EPIM.
Maxim,
EPIM Team

bobmac1547
Novice
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:33 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Not all database fields

Post by bobmac1547 »

Thanks, Max...
A cumbersome workaround, but it will probably work.

I'd like to suggest that you have the bulk move function added as a feature. Very convenient, especially in view of problems with importing...

Stay well and safe...

Post Reply