Gigantic size of backup file

Discussion of EssentialPIM for Android and synchronization
poet-man
Guru

Gigantic size of backup file

Post by poet-man »

Hi there,

for some time now, my backup file size is more than 100 MB. No matter what I choose to save (tasks only or passwords only) - it remains that size.
I used to have about 5 MB. When I decided to have notes with pictures in it (made via camera icon there), it suddenly grew by lots. But now it remains that size, as I said, no matter what I choose to save.

So it seems, AEPIM somehow remembers file size und uses such big files, no matter how much data has to be saved.
How can I make backup file size small again?

Thanks.
Everything I mention comes out of my experience. I'm not an expert. Feel free to try anything I suggest ... but always at your own risk.
admin
Site Admin

Re: Gigantic size of backup file

Post by admin »

If you have a spare Android device, try to restore the 100 MB backup file on it and see what kind of data gets into EPIM, especially for the case when you opted to backup only tasks, for instance. Thanks!
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!
poet-man
Guru

Post by poet-man »

Will have a try and report.
Thanks.
Everything I mention comes out of my experience. I'm not an expert. Feel free to try anything I suggest ... but always at your own risk.
poet-man
Guru

Post by poet-man »

Seems, AEPIM doesnot do, what it is told in backup module. I chose tasks only, when doing a backup.
I transferred the 100 MB file to my smartphone, restored it there, saying yes to the question whether all data should be deleted prior to restoring.
Nevertheless all data was there after restoring, not only tasks, but also calendar, passwords etc. I had done a significant change in one task, before making a backup. This significant task was there after restore. So restore was done, but abviously much more data was restored than should be in backup file.
How is this on your side?
Thanks.
admin