6.0.16 - cannot change backup folder

Discussion of EssentialPIM for Android and synchronization
poet-man
Guru

6.0.16 - cannot change backup folder

Post by poet-man »

Hi there,

just tried to change backup folder, as in latest version the standard folder seems to have changed to a new folder somewhere in depth of Android system (which is a rather lengthy folder name).
But, at least on my side, I cannot enter to set up the folder? Can I do anything about it?

Thanks
Everything I mention comes out of my experience. I'm not an expert. Feel free to try anything I suggest ... but always at your own risk.
admin
Site Admin

Re: 6.0.16 - cannot change backup folder

Post by admin »

Unfortunately, this limitation is by design and is in accordance with the restrictions imposed by the new Android OS versions. We understand that it may be disappointing, but we are bound by the constraints set by the operating system. If you have any other questions or concerns, please let us know, and we will do our best to assist you.
Android version of EssentialPIM. Keep all your data in sync!
poet-man
Guru

Post by poet-man »

Understood!
However, it seems, that program can set a folder (not user) ... in last version it was set to a simple folder like downloads/epimbackup.
Can manufacturer set it to some simple folder again? Now it is set to a folder nobody can remember?
Everything I mention comes out of my experience. I'm not an expert. Feel free to try anything I suggest ... but always at your own risk.
poet-man
Guru

Post by poet-man »

@admin
To add something to your answer:
It doesnot seem too polite by program/manufacturer, that in a case where OS brings up limitations, there is no message at all by program, to give user a hint, why a no-reaction is. Program just doesnot do anything and user is left alone with NO information at all.